Bringing Historic and Landscape Preservation Together

First convened in June,1997, the Grafton Heritage Partnership Project (Partnership) is a volunteer non-profit organization governed by a Board of Trustees selected from participating organizations and families. The Partnership unites the interests of federal, state, local governments, private landowners and community groups to effectively work toward preserving Grafton as an historic site.

The Partnership’s purpose is to preserve and enhance the outstanding historical, agricultural, scenic, riparian, and cultural values of the Grafton historic townsite for the benefit of present and future generations.

A statement by John Ruskin (1819-1900) a founder of the National Trust made more than a century ago says it best about what we are trying to do at Grafton.

…”and if we do our job well, it is possible that our children will say, see they did this for us; they saw the beauty of the landscape and worth of these buildings, they protected and nurtured them and they passed them on to us”.…..

Grafton Heritage Partnership Project Board of

Trustees include:

  • Jane Whalen, President; realtor, conservationist
  • Jack Burns, Vice President was a founding member of Grafton Heritage Partnership; retired Zion National Park
  • Therese Feinauer, Treasurer, was a founding member of the Grafton Heritage Partnership Project, Rockville resident
  • Shirley Ballard- Grafton Land owner; Rockville resident
  • Jim Harland, Rockville resident
  • Ron Morris- Descendant of Grafton, historical researcher
  • Anne Stanworth, Grafton descendant, retired Bureau of Land Management (BLM)
  • Jim Coleman, Grafton descendant
  • Michael McBride, Rockville resident
  • Sherri Rybkiewicz, Rockville resident


  • Private Landowners
  • Descendants
  • Town of Rockville
  • Rockville Historic Preservation Commission
  • Washington County
  • Bureau of Land Management
  • Zion National Park
  • Grand Canyon Trust
  • Attiyeh Foundation
  • Jeff and Shirley Ballard landowners
  • Bevin Johnson Family


  • George and Delores Dore’ Eccles Foundation
  • Katherine W. Dumke and Ezekiel R. Dumke, Jr. Foundation
  • Dr. Ezekiel R. and Edna Wattis Dumke Foundation
  • Simmons Family Foundation
  • R. Harold Burton Foundation
  • OC Tanner Company
  • Utah Division of State History
  • National Trust of Historic Preservation
  • Utah Department of Agriculture
  • Utah Quality Growth Commission
  • National Fish and Wildlife Foundation
  • River restoration to remove non native plants: National Resources Conservation Service; US Fish and Wildlife Service, Partners for Fish and Wildlife Program; Utah Division of Forestry Fire and State Lands; Utah Division of Wildlife Resources


  • Rural Heritage Award 1999
  • Utah Heritage Foundation 2000 Heritage Award
  • Utah Heritage Foundation 2001 Certificate of Recognition